Cirencester Ramblers

A healthy 19, including two visiting first time ramblers, whom we hope to see again set off from the Gateway Centre on the Spine Road, South Cerney.

 We were blessed with dry, mild weather and the previously muddy paths had dried up making the going much easier. From the Gateway Centre we took the tow path running along the disused Thames and Severn canal, which once joined the river Severn at Saul. At Cerney Wick Lock and Keeper’s cottage dating back to the 1780’s we turned right for a short walk along the road before crossing fields and several stiles. Here we passed the gravel extraction works and the more picturesque Cotswold Sailing Club.

 This section took us to the dismantled railway track where we turned right. We then crossed the Spine Road, passing under a disused bridge and continued on the cycle path to South Cerney. A further short stretch on the cycle path took us under another disused bridge to the children’s playground for our refreshment stop.

 After a further short section on the cycle path we met the road again, turning right towards South Cerney golf club and taking another right turn to re-join the tow path. This took in the golf club, the much dilapidated Wildmoorway locks and the former keeper’s cottage – now a private home, before returning to the Gateway centre where a number of the group enjoyed a well earned coffee and cake.

 

Along the tow path of the disused Thames and Severn Canal, nearing Cerney Wick with the canal and 1780's keeper's cottage to the left

 

Snowdrops along the towpath showing Spring is on it's way

 

Cotswold Sailing Club

 

All Aboard!

 

  Cerney Wick Lock and 1780's keeper's cottage