Cirencester Ramblers

On 15th May thirteen members left Winchcombe and worked their way over to Hailes Abbey which was founded in 1246 by the Earl of Cornwall. (the Abbey was dissolved in 1539 by Henry V111 and little of it remains today).

They had a short break there before the climb up to Farmcote and then around to the Winchcombe Way

After a lunch stop the walk was mainly downhill to get back to Winchcombe passing Sudeley Hall, with the Grade 1 listed Sudeley Castle in the distance.

There was a fine drizzle on the walk back to Winchcombe.

The group above Winchcombe

 

Setting off up the hill from Winchcombe

 

Sheep in the shade

 

What a beautiful wisteria!

 

Downhill towards Sudeley Castle

 

Stunning valley views!