Nineteen members set off from the picturesque town of Burford to do an 8.5 mile walk, taking in Fulbrook, Asthall and Swinbrook. Burford is thought to take it’s name from a combination of two words, Burh, meaning defended town, and ford, a river crossing,
Heading out from Burford in lovely weather the group made their way from the car park to cross the bridge over the River Windrush. Turning right onto the A361 they took a footpath towards Fulbrook. They passed Payne’s Farm and continued to Asthall and had lunch in the grounds of Asthall Manor. Asthall Manor was built in 1620 and was the home of the 6 Mitford sisters (and one brother). Four of the Mitford sister are buried in St Mary’s church in nearby Swinbrook. The brother, Tony, was killed in action in Burma in 1945.
Just after Payne's Farm a group of 5 walkers split off to do a shorter (6.8 miles) version of the walk. This group made their way down Dean Bottom then onto Swinbrook church for lunch. They continued to St Oswald’s Church near Widford before following the River Windrush back to Burford.
The main group continued towards Swinbrook to the church where the Mitford sisters are buried. They then headed back to Burford passing the 13thC St Oswald's church. This small church was built in 13thC and wall paintings were added in 14thC. A small area of a Roman mosaic was in the chancel but has now been moved to Corinium Museum in Cirencester.

The group after walking through Fulbrook

After Payne's Farm some views of Spring

Some of the sculptures at Asthall Manor

Heading for Swinbrook and a distant view of Asthall Manor

The graves of some of the Mitford sisters and their family

St Oswald's church in Widford before heading back to Burford
